Shantys!

South Australia

In South Australia I was born
Heave away, haul away
In South Australia 'round Cape Horn
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

As I walked out one morning fair
Heave away, haul away
That's where I met Miss Nancy Blair
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

The only thing that grieves mi mind
Heave away, haul away
To leave Miss Nancy Blair behind
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

I run her all night I run her all day
Heave away, haul away
Run her before we sailed away
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

I shook her up I shook her down
Heave away, haul away
I shook her round and round the town
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

And as you wallop 'round Cape Horn
Heave away, haul away
You'll wish that you had never been born
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

I wish I was on Australia's strand
Heave away, haul away
With a bottle of Wiskey in my hand
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

When I sailed across the sea
Heave away, haul away
My girl said she'd be tru to me
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

Two old women sleepin' on the sand
Heave away, haul away
Each one wishing that the other was a man
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

In South Australia my native land
Heave away, haul away
Full of rocks, and fleas, and thieves and sand
And we're bound for South Australia

Heave away you rolling king
Heave away, haul away
Heave away when you hear me sing
And we're bound for South Australia

http://open.spotify.com/track/3dR8MMM2K3ZCEvNKnRtSD6






Drunken Sailor

What do you do with a drunken sailor,
What do you do with a drunken sailor,
What do you do with a drunken sailor,
Earl-eye in the morning!

1. Sling him in the long boat till he's sober,
2. Keep him there and make 'im bale 'er.
3. Pull out the plug and wet him all over,
4. Take 'im and shake 'im, try an' wake 'im.
5. Trice him up in a runnin' bowline.
6. Give 'im a taste of the bosun's rope-end.
7. Give 'im a dose of salt and water.
8. Stick on 'is back a mustard plaster.
9. Shave his belly with a rusty razor.
10. Send him up the crow's nest till he falls down,
11. Tie him to the taffrail when she's yardarm under,
12. Put him in the scuppers with a hose-pipe on him.
13. Soak 'im in oil till he sprouts flippers.
14. Put him in the guard room till he's sober.
15. Put him in bed with the captain's daughter.
16. Take the Baby and call it Bo'sun.
17. Turn him over and drive him windward.
18. Put him in the scuffs until the horse bites on him.
19. Heave him by the leg and with a rung console him.
20. That's what we'll do with the drunken sailor.

http://open.spotify.com/track/4lMoiWGabF3htW8SdTWgmh







Pump shanty

The captain's daughter I suppose
Could be called an English Rose
What would you think when I propose
The pox she gave to me a dose.

Chorus:
Pump me boys, pump her dry
Down to hell and up to the sky
Bend your back and break your bones
We're just a thousand miles from home.

This rose well she did prick me sore
I never felt so bad before
Thanks to the girl i did adore
I thought I'd never pump no more.

I called the doctor right away
To find out what he had to say
That's two pound ten get on your way
I'm sure this girl is in her pay.

They say life has its ups and downs
That really now is quite profound
I'd like to push the capstan round
But its pump me boys before we drown.

The ocean we all do adore
So come on boys let's pump some more
Don't worry if your stiff and sore
I'm sure we've pumped this bit before.

Sometimes when I am in me bed
And thinking of me day ahead
I wish that I could wake up dead
But pumpin's all I get instead.

Yes, how I wish that I could die
The swine who built this tub to find
I'd bring him back from where he fries
And pump him till the beggar's dry.

If Noah used him for his ark
Now wouldn't that have been a lark
From rising sun till getting dark
The animals all hard at work.

There's so much water down below
Just how it got there I don't know
The old man says let's roll and go
But I think we're bound for Davey Jones.

http://open.spotify.com/track/7EJGWpYxtTOrJSEA09ihGZ


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0